About Mathematics Department
  • Name
    Dr.Akkapeddi Chandra Sekhar, M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.
  • Designation
    Professor-HOD, Chairperson, Board of Studies
  • Email
  • Phone

The department was established in 1980 as part of B.Tech programme in the college of engineering. The curriculum is revised depending upon the developments in application skills. The choice based credit system is implemented from the academic year 2015-16. Out of the 29 faculty members in the department there are 2 Professors, 6 Associate Professors and 21 Assistant Professors: 25 faculty members are having doctorate degree.

Research is the major strength of the department with a sharp focus in the thrust areas of Fluid Dynamics and Relativity & cosmology. Apart from these thrust areas the faculties are working in different areas such as Algebra & Lattice Theory, Complex variables, Differential equations, Functional analysis, Fuzzy logic, Numerical analysis, Number theory & Cryptography and Operations research.

The faculty members have published 275 research papers during the last six years with an impact factor ranging from 0.1 to 2.1 the faculty members are also guiding M.Phil/Ph.D. students.